Here and Now Agency

Today, The American Institute of Architects has revealed the winners of its 2023 Housing Awards, honoring 10 projects emblematic of "the best in housing design for new construction, renovations and restorations," according to an AIA press release. This year's class of winners was selected from a pool of submissions spread across eight categories: one- and two-family custom residences; one- and two-family production homes; multifamily housing; specialized housing; excellence in affordable housing; mixed-use community connection; community-engaged design; and universal dwelling design.

The jury for AIA's 2023 Housing Awards, which are now in their 23rd year, comprised chair Catherine Baker, FAIA, Nowhere Collaborative, Chicago; John DeForest, AIA, DeForest Architects, Seattle; Brian Lane, FAIA, Koning Eizenberg, Santa Monica, Calif.; Amit Price Patel, AIA, DIALOG, Vancouver, British Columbia; Michael D. Robinson, AIA, Robi4 Architecture & Planning, San Diego.

Meet the 2023 Winners

One- and Two-Family Custom Residences

Casey Dunn

Alta Vista Residence in Austin, Texas, designed by Alterstudio Architecture

Kevin Scott

The Rambler in Indianola, Wash., designed by GO’C

Justin Lopez

Flex House in Sacramento, Calif., designed by Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Multifamily Housing

Sam Fentress

Woodward Lofts in St. Louis, designed by Trivers

Here And Now

Canyon Drive in Los Angeles, designed by Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects

Specialized Housing


Argyle Gardens in Portland, Ore., designed by Holst Architecture

Excellence in Affordable Housing

Bruce Damonte

Sister Lillian Murphy Community in San Francisco, designed by Paulett Taggart Architects with Studio VARA

Paul Vu

Gramercy Senior Housing in Los Angeles, designed by Kevin Daly Architects

Third-floor balcony view over plaza.
Iwan Baan Third-floor balcony view over plaza.

MLK1101 Supportive Housing, in Los Angeles designed by Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects

Mixed-Use Community Connection

Sam Oberter

The Block in Philadelphia, designed by ISA - Interface Studio Architects

See more winners of the 2023 AIA Honor Awards here.