Lara Swimmer Tulsa City-County Central Library in Oklahoma, designed by MSR Design

Today the American Institute of Architects released the winners for the 2018 Library Building Awards, which are given in partnership with the American Library Association. This year, the jury selected six winners, located in Oklahoma, Texas, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Maryland, and California.

The entries are open to any library project in the world that is open to the public, provided it was designed by an architect licensed in the United States, and this year's submissions had to have been completed in or after 2013.

The 2018 jury was comprised of chair Daria Pizzetta, FAIA, of H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture in New York City; Sara Bushong of Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio; Patrick Deaton, AIA, of the North Carolina State University Libraries, Raleigh, N.C.; Terri Luke of Wake County Public Library in Cary, N.C.; Christopher Noll, AIA, of Noll & Tam Architects in Berkeley, Calif.; and Lisa Lintner Valenzuela of Johnson County Public Library in Franklin, Ind.

The 2018 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards

Nic Lehoux

Austin Central Library, Austin, Texas
Lake|Flato - Shepley Bulfinch

Chuck Choi

Eastham Public Library, Eastham, Mass.
Oudens Ello Architecture

Paul Brokering

Hastings Public Library Renovation and Addition, Hastings, Neb.
The Clark Enersen Partners

Sam Kittner

Laurel Branch Library, Largo, Md.
Grimm+Parker Architects

Eric Staudenmaier

Pico Branch Library, Santa Monica, Calif.
Koning Eizenberg Architecture

Lara Swimmer

Tulsa City-County Central Library, Tulsa, Okla.
MSR Design

View present and past winners of the AIA/ALA Library Building Awards in ARCHITECT's Project Gallery.