Chosen from 383 projects located in 238 cities in 38 countries across Europe, the European Commission and the Barcelona, Spain–based Fundació Mies van der Rohe has announced the five finalists for the 2019 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture–Mies van der Rohe Award. Founded in 1988 and awarded biennially, the prize recognizes exceptional European architecture in terms of "technological, constructional, social, economic, cultural and aesthetic achievements," according to the website.

This year's finalists are a remodeled psychiatric clinic in Belgium; a government center in Spain; a public space masterplan in Albania; a mixed-use project in Germany; and a renovated residential building in France. The winner will be announced at the end of April and the award ceremony will take place on May 7 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain.

Dorte Mandrup, founder and creative director of her eponymous architecture firm in Aarhus, Denmark, chaired a seven-person jury comprised of George Arbid, associate professor of architecture at the American University of Beirut in Lebanon; Angelika Fitz, cultural theorist and architectural curator and author based in Vienna; Ștefan Ghenciulescu, editor-in-chief of Romanian architecture magazine Zeppelin; Kamiel Klaasse, principal of Amsterdam-based NL Architects; María Langarita of Madrid-based firm Langarita-Navarro; and Frank McDonald, architect at Chattanooga, Tenn.–based River Street Architecture. The same group will determine the winner in April.

Filip Dujardin

PC Caritas by Architecten de Vylder Vinck Taillieu
Melle, Belgium

Iwan Baan

Plasencia Auditorium and Congress Centre by SelgasCano
Plasencia, Spain

Filip Dujardin

Skanderbeg Square by 51N4E; Anri Sala, Plant en Houtgoed, and iRI
Tirana, Albania

Erica Overmeer

Terrassenhaus Berlin / Lobe Block by Brandlhuber+ Emde, Burlon and Muck Petzet Architekten
Berlin, Germany

Philippe Ruault

Transformation of 530 dwellings - Grand Parc Bordeaux by Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, Frédéric Druot Architecture, and Christophe Hutin Architecture
Bordeaux, France

Read ARCHITECT's previous coverage of the award here.