AIA Wisconsin announced eight projects as winners for its 2016 Design Awards, which are all recognized for excellence in architectural design. All of the award-winning sites share one commonality: They were designed by architects who are members of the Midwestern state chapter. However, the winning projects varied greatly in landscape, relationship to community, and how they dealt with issues of renovation and preservation. The Design Award winners are also celebrated for design solutions, attention to detail, and creative use of materials.

This year's jury was comprised of nationally distinguished architects from outside of the Badger State, which included Chicago-based DLR Group principal Stephen Cavanaugh, AIA; Substance Architecture principal Timothy Hickman, AIA, from Des Moines, Iowa; and TEN Arquitectos principal Enrique Norten, Hon. FAIA, whose firm has locations in New York and Mexico City.

To see more of AIA Wisconsin's Design Awards, go to ARCHITECT's Project Gallery:

Honor Awards

John J. Macaulay

Linear Cabin, in Milwaukee, Wis., by Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Redux House, in Whitefish Bay, Wis., by Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Lake Michigan Beach Cottage, in Belgium, Wis., by Ramsey Jones Architects

Guest House Garden Pavilion, Milkwaukee, Wis., by Vetter Denk Architecture

Merit Awards

WTS Paradigm, in Middleton, Wis., by Eppstein Uhen Architects

Dustin DuPree

Milwaukee Art Museum, in Milwaukee, Wis., by HGA Architects and Engineers

Mountain House, in Big Sky, Mont., by Johnsen Shcmaling Architects

Adelman House Restoration and Pool House Addition, in Fox Point, Wis., by The Kubala Washatko Architects