In Situ in San Francisco
Alanna Hale In Situ in San Francisco

At a ceremony held in Chicago on Monday evening, the James Beard Foundation recognized three hospitality projects in its annual Outstanding Restaurant Design Awards. Two awards are bestowed to new projects, this year completed since 2015, while the Design Icon Award, launched in 2016, recognizes a restaurant that remains "substantially unchanged for at least 20 years" and "influenced and inspired the design of subsequent restaurants and dining spaces."

The jury for the 2018 Restaurant Design Awards was comprised of Annie Block of Interior Design; Jeff Guga of Los Angeles–based Guga Architecture; Dorothy Kalins of Dorothy Kalins Ink; and Michael Maharam of Maharam. The 2018 Restaurant Design Awards Committee, who selects the jury members as well as the Design Icon Award recipient, was comprised of James Biber, FAIA, of New York–based Biber Architects; Craig Dykers, FAIA, of Oslo, Norway– and New York–based Snøhetta; Kristina O’Neal of New York–based AvroKO; and Chee Pearlman of TED Conferences.

75 Seats and Under

Heidi Bridge

De Maria, New York
The MP Shift

76 Seats and Over

Matthew Millman

In Situ, San Francisco
Aidlin Darling Design with A L M Project

Design Icon

Courtesy James Beard Foundation

The American Restaurant, Kansas City, Mo.
Warren Platner Associates

Visit ARCHITECT's Project Gallery for more information about the present and past winners in the James Beard Foundation's Restaurant Design Awards.