The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) has selected five finalists to submit proposals for its 2015 Young Architects Program (YAP), an annual competition to design and build an outdoor space for the summer at the museum's PS1 satellite location in Long Island City, N.Y. Since the official launch of the program in 2000, emerging architects have created innovative public spaces by experimenting with design and building materials.

Here are MoMA’s five finalists in the competition:

Andrés Jaque of New York– and Madrid-based Office for Political Innovation and Andrés Jaque Architects

"Ikea Disobedients"
Andrés Jaque Architects "Ikea Disobedients"

Jaque is currently a professor of Advanced Design at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at Columbia University in New York. His firm received a Silver Lion award for best research project in the section, "Monditalia," at the 2014 Venice Architecture Biennale. In 2012, MoMA acquired the firm’s "Ikea Disobedients," an architectural performance piece, for its collection.

Jacob Brillhart, AIA of Miami-based Brillhart Architecture

"Infinite City"
Brillhart Architecture "Infinite City"

Brillhart teaches design, freehand drawing, and architectural theory as an assistant professor at the University of Miami School of Architecture, and has served as the Favrot Visiting Assistant Professor at Tulane University. The firm that he founded in 2005 won an AIA Miami Young Architect of the Year Award in 2014.

Erin Besler

"The Entire Situation"
Courtesy Besler & Sons "The Entire Situation"

Besler is a faculty member at the University of California Los Angeles in the Department of Architecture and Urban Design, where she was the 2013–2014 Teaching Fellow. In the past, Besler has worked for Tigerman-McCurry Architects and VOA Associates in Chicago and for First Office and Zago Architecture in Los Angeles.

Michael Loverich of New York–based Bittertang

"Burple Bup"
Bittertang "Burple Bup"

Loverich manages this “small design farm” with partner Antonio Torres by exploring “expression and sensation through various designed media in addition to architecture.” He previously taught at the University of Pennsylvania and UCLA. Bittertang was awarded the 2010 New York Architectural League Prize for Young Architects and the 2014 AIA New York New Practices Award.

Benjamin Dillenburger and Michael Hansmeyer of Toronto-based Studio Benjamin Dillenburger

"Digital Catenary"
Studio Benjamin Dillenburger "Digital Catenary"

Studio Benjamin Dillenburger is a firm focusing on the advancement of CNC production methods such as 3D printing. Dillenburger is assistant professor teaching architecture at the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design at the University of Toronto, and a partner of Kaisersrot, an interdisciplinary consulting & design studio specialized in computer aided planning. Hansmeyer is an architect and programmer, who teaches as a visiting professor at Southeast University in Nanjing.

Here’s a look at the 2014 winner, David Benjamin of The Living, and the history of the Young Architects Program.

Homepage image used via a Creative Commons License with Flickr user Jarito.