Today, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) named 22 winners of the Young Architects Awards, recognizing "individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the architecture profession early in their careers," according to AIA's website.

Despite its name, AIA's Young Architects Awards does not base eligibility on age. Any AIA member licensed for fewer than 10 years is eligible. The jury for the 2020 Young Architects Award comprised chair Edward Vance, FAIA of EV&A Architects in Las Vegas; Peter Kuttner, FAIA, of Cambridge Seven Associates in Boston; John Castellana, FAIA, of TMP Architecture in Bloomfield Hill, Mich.; Roger Schluntz, FAIA, of the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque; Frances Halsband, FAIA, of Kliment Halsband Architects in New York City; and Lora Teagarden, AIA, of RATIO Architects in Indianapolis.

The winners of the 2020 AIA Young Architects Awards are:

Kenneth A. Andrews, AIA, Arch11

Gabriela Baierle, AIA, Arrowstreet

Aaron Bowman, AIA, Liollio Architecture

Abigail R. Brown, AIA, Hickok Cole

Jeffry Burchard, AIA, Machado and Silvetti

Catherine Callaway, AIA, Kirksey Architecture

Juliet Chun, AIA, Leers Weinzapfel Associates

Kimberly Dowdell, AIA, HOK

Jennifer Hardy, AIA, Payette

Meredith Hayes Gordon, AIA, HGA

Damaris Hollingsworth, AIA, Design By Melo

Stacey Z. Keller, AIA, Mead & Hunt

Brynnemarie Lanciotti, AIA, Stantec

Nicholas Lindsley, AIA, Neumann Monson Architects

Christopher L. Ludwig, AIA, Kahler Slater

Christopher Lujan, AIA, TSK

Wayne Mortenson, AIA, Cleveland Neighborhood Progress

Amber Sausen, AIA, Alliiance

Oswaldo Tapia, AIA, LPA

Mattie Lou Ming Thompson, AIA, Atelier Cho Thompson

Jesse Turck, AIA, BWBR

JoAnn Hindmarsh Wilcox, AIA, Mahlum Architects

To see more winners of the 2020 AIA Honor Awards, click here.